≡ Menu

Public Holidays in Thailand 2017 & 2018

View public holidays for:

Public holidays for year 2017 (Thai year 2560):

Festival Date Remarks
New Year’s Day 1 January 2017 (Sun)
New Year’s Day 2 January 2017 (Mon) Replacement day
Chinese New Year 28 January 2017 (Sat) A week of festivities and fireworks display in the Chinese neighborhood throughout Thailand
Magha Puja Day

11 February  2017 (Sat)

Full moon, 3rd lunar month

A PH commemorating the gathering of Lord Buddha’s disciples that culminates with a candelit walk around the main chapel of every temple in the country.
Chakri Day 6 April 2017 (Thu) Commemorating the founder of the Chakri Dynasty, King Rama I
Songkran Festival 13- 16 April 2017 (Thu- Sun) Thai New Year. Water is splashed on everyone in a ‘gesture of good luck’ for the new year. In some places, colourful water based paints are also splashed- so don’t go out dressed in your expensive clothes.
Labor Day 1 May 2017 (Mon)
Visakha Puja Day

10 May 2017 (Wed)

Full moon of the sixth lunar month

Commemorating the birth, enlightenment and passing away of Lord Buddha.
Royal Ploughing Ceremony Day 12 May 2017 (Fri) Held when the rice growing season begins
Asalha Puja Day

8 July 2017 (Sat)

Full moon, eight lunar month

The day the Buddha delivered the first sermon
Khao Phansa/ Buddhist Lent 11 July 2017 (Tue) Celebrate the beginning of Buddhist lent, or the rains retreat.
H.M Queen’s birthday/ Mother’s Day 12 August 2017 (Fri) Celebrating the birthday of Queen Sirikit of Thailand also known as Mother’s Day.
Anniversary of the Death of King Bhumibol 13 October 2017 (Fri) The day of the passing of King Bhumibol, Thailand’s beloved king.
Chulalongkorn Day 23 October 2017 (Mon) Commemorate the passing away of King Chulalongkorn (King Rama V)
Royal cremation day 26 October 2017 (Thu) Royal Cremation date for the late King Bhumibol
Father’s Day 5 December 2017 (Tue) The birthday of the late King Bhumibol which is also known as Father’s Day.
Constitution Day 10 December 2017 (Sunday) To celebrate the day of Thailand’s democratic constitution
Constitution Day (replacement day) 11 December 2017 (Monday) Replacement off as the date falls on a Sunday
New Year’s Eve 31 December Celebration across the country to bring in the new year.

 

Public holidays for year 2018 (Thai year 2561):

Festival Date Remarks
New Year’s Day 1 January 2018 (Mon)
Chinese New Year 16 February 2018 (Fri) A week of festivities and fireworks display in the Chinese neighborhood throughout Thailand
Magha Puja Day

1 March 2018 (Thu)

Full moon, 3rd lunar month

A PH commemorating the gathering of Lord Buddha’s disciples that culminates with a candelit walk around the main chapel of every temple in the country.
Chakri Day 6 April 2018 Commemorating the founder of the Chakri Dynasty, King Rama I
Songkran Festival 13- 17 April 2018 Thai New Year. Water is splashed on everyone in a ‘gesture of good luck’ for the new year. In some places, colourful water based paints are also splashed- so don’t go out dressed in your expensive clothes.
Labor Day 1 May 2018 (Tue)
Royal Ploughing Ceremony Day 11 May 2018 (Fri) Held when the rice growing season begins
Visakha Puja Day

29 May 2018 (Tue)

Full moon of the sixth lunar month

Commemorating the birth, enlightenment and passing away of Lord Buddha.
Asalha Puja Day

27 July 2018 (Fri)

Full moon, eight lunar month

The day the Buddha delivered the first sermon
Khao Phansa/ Buddhist Lent 27 July 2018 (Fri) Marks the beginning of Buddhist lent, or the rains retreat.
H.M Queen’s birthday/ Mother’s Day 12 August (Sun) Celebrating the birthday of Queen Sirikit of Thailand.
Replacement Day 13 August 2018 (Mon) Replacement day for Mother’s Day.
Anniversary of the Death of King Bhumibol 13 October 2018 (Sat)
Chulalongkorn Day 23 October 2018 (Tue) Commemorate the passing away of King Chulalongkorn (King Rama V)
Father’s Day 5 December 2018 (Wed) King Bhumibol’s birthday also known as Father’s Day
Constitution Day 10 December (Mon) To celebrate the day of Thailand’s democratic constitution
New Year’s Eve 31 December (Mon) To usher in the new year.

Note: Loy Krathong- it is a celebration of lights, floats and releasing of laterns. Places like Chao Phraya river (Bangkok), Chiang Mai and Sukhothai would come alive with lights, floating laterns and river boat floats. Hpwever as the Thai people still mourns the passing away of their beloved King Bhumibol, Loy Krathong would not be a public holiday.

Above is the standard public holidays in Thailand. Some of the holidays follows the lunar calendar, which varies from one year to the other.

Related posts:

If you like this post, say thanks by sharing it:
RELATED:  Thai table calendar with numbers in Thai language